Friday, December 7, 2012

iMurders (2008)

Summary: A mysterious love triangle leads to a tragic shooting. Months later, eight members of a MySpace-esque chat room are being gruesomely murdered in the privacy of their own homes. (imdb.com) 

This movie was another typical type slasher movie, using an internet twist. I watched this awhile ago, so bear with me. It was simple enough to remember it though, and remember it not being too interesting.  You get a few people, who meet in a chat room on a social network site, who keep dying off. The supposed twist ending, wasn't a twist at all. You will see it coming a mile away. It's not much of a twist. Anyways, this movie is okay for a one time watch. If you are into the whole, be careful of who you meet on the internet (made popular by Catfish), then this is something you can add to your watch list. Don't expect it to be that interesting though. 

Also, be careful who you meet online (insert creepy laugh here). 

HorrorChick

Dead Inside (2011)

Summary: Sarah, a mentally-disturbed teen, has a jarring premonition of her friends' impending deaths one night at a sleepover. As her house guests begin to turn murderously against each other, Sarah must determine whether her visions represent the preventable or the inevitable... or something entirely more sinister (imdb.com)

I watched this movie on a whim. There's a lack of good horror movies out right now that catch my attention, so I just randomly picked one. This movie really wasn't that original from a ton of teen horror movies out there. It was really slow and really didn't pick up too much towards the end. The deaths were lack luster, and happened quickly after the other. There was no build up, except for a few visions. It would have been better had their been more things that bought into the whole premonition, creepy things. I will say, the main character was very good. She was weird and creepy, which helped the movie out. Other than her, it wasn't that good. The twist ending wasn't really too shocking. Watching it, you could probably guess what is going to happen. Anyways, it's okay for a one time watch. If you're bored and can't find anything better to watch. It's very typical, which doesn't make it bad, but it's not that interesting either. 

HorrorChick

Monday, December 3, 2012

Slit-Mouthed Woman (2007)

Summary: This movie is about a real life Japanese Urban legend involving a woman with a horribly disfigured mouth. As the legend goes, this woman was slit by her samurai husband, and now roams the streets wearing a surgical mask. If you encounter her, she will ask, "Am I Pretty?" Answer wrong and you will be meet with horrible consequences. So they took this legend, and turned it into a movie. However, in this movie the slit mouthed prays on children. She will kidnap children and take them to her home before she murders them. 

I haven't really watched a Japanese horror movie in awhile. I always felt that they were all similar. However, I had heard of this one and had been putting off watching it for awhile. I'm glad I finally watched it. It really was interesting and a bit creepy. It kept me watching through the entire thing, which is really hard to do. I'm also pausing a movie and coming back to it later. The Slit-Mouth Woman was also very creepy looking with her mouth and the large pair of sheers she carried around. The only problem I have with this movie, is the scenes depicting child abuse. I turned away. I can not sit there and watch it. In my opinion, watch this movie. It is one of the better Japanese horror movies I have seen in awhile, not to mention it is creepy. Be aware, it is subtitled. So if that's not your thing, too bad.

HorrorChick

Saturday, December 1, 2012

Wrong Turn 5 (2012)


Summary (imdb.com): A small West Virginia town is hosting the legendary Mountain Man Festival on Halloween, where throngs of costumed party goers gather for a wild night of music and mischief. But an inbred family of hillbilly cannibals kill the fun when they trick and treat themselves to a group of visiting college students.   

I was really excited to see this film when it came out. I am a huge fan on the Wrong Turn series for some reason (the third one being favorite). They came out when the whole back woods cannibals was popular, and I latched onto it. Finding it a lot better than most films in the same sub genre. That being said, I was severely disappointed with this one. It wasn't nearly as good as the other four. My thoughts are that after four movies, they just ran out of imagination. It was sort of boring, I didn't feel anything for the characters, and the cannibal dudes weren't as cool as they usually are. My advice, skip over this movie. If you're a fan of the series like I am, you'll really be disappointed. 

Apparently there is going to be three more movies. Though I can not find any news of it on legitimate horror sites. Plus, if you look at the cast listing for the supposed 6th movie, it seems very unlikely that some of those actors would appear in a film like this. Maybe I'm wrong though.

Anyways, like I said before, skip over this film. Save your time and watch something else instead. 

HorrorChick

Friday, October 12, 2012

Scary or Die (2012)


Summary from imdb.com: This horror anthology has five short films. Zombie action takes place by the Arizona-Mexico border in "The Crossing". "Taejung's Lament" follows a man in mourning for a lost love and his reward for a good deed. A hit-man has a tough job in "Re-Membered". "Clowned" tells the tale of birthday party entertainment gone wrong. "Lover Come Back" reflects on the power of true love. 

Now, I am a huge fan of horror anthology films. And this film did not disappoint like I thought it was going to. I thought each film was good, even if some of them had been done before. The best was definitely the one about the clown. Clowns are definitely creepy, but this story of the clown took it to a whole new level. It's sort of what children's nightmares are made of. Besides the clown story, the other stories were good too. One of them even involved zombies. Who doesn't love zombies. A lot of people were upset, because the stories didn't link together at all. It's not about the individual stories that link together, but the people in them.  

This is another film that is worth a one time watch. Add it to your list of things to watch during October. However, if you're someone who is afraid of clowns, you might want to skip over this story. Another thing, I realize it says Corbin Bleu stars in this film, but don't let that deter you. I didn't even realize the one character was Corbin until I looked up the cast listing.

HorrorChick23 

Vile (2011)



Summary from imdb.com: A group of friends stop to pick up a hitchhiking woman only to end up getting drugged by her with a gas. They awaken to find that vials have been implanted in the base of their skulls - which are of course instantly fatal if they are removed, a grinning professional looking woman informs them on TV screens that they have 22hrs to fill these vials with a specific amount of brain fluid, a fluid that is produced during times of extreme pain. Along with another group of unlucky test subjects and with time ticking away they decide to work together and share the burden of reaching their painful target. 

There were a lot of plot holes in this movie and at times it was hard to understand. With that being said, I actually really liked this movie. It was disturbing and cringe worthy. There were times during this movie where I had to look away. I also got me thinking at how I would handle that if I was in that situation. I like movies that get me to think. There needed to be fine tuning, but it was a bit different in the sub-genre that it fits into.

If you're someone who loves these kinds of horror, I definitely suggest it. It's good for at least a one time watch. Or something to watch during my favorite month of October. 

HorrorChick23

Smiley (2012)



Summary from imdb.com :After discovering an urban legend on 4chan's /b/ board of a demented serial killer that has nothing but a carved 'smiley' on his face, Ashley, a mentally fragile teen, must decide whether she is going insane, or the next victim. 

I waited for quite awhile for this film to come out. It's another movie based on Urban Legends, which hasn't really been done for awhile. And it really takes the power of the internet and how things are spread, and puts it in this movie. In that aspect it was good. I found it to be okay. The acting was something to be desired. Other than Roger Bart, I could care less for every single character and what happened to them. 

In my opinion, skip this movie. Nothing special. Not something that is going to keep you interested.

HockeyChick23

Sinister (2012)






Summary: Found footage helps a true-crime novelist realize how and why a family was murdered in his new home, though his discoveries put his entire family in the path of a supernatural entity.(picture and summary courtesy of imdb.com)

So, I went into this film with no expectations what so ever. Of course deep down I was hoping that it would be good. The entire concept was good. They just didn't bring it up to a level that was scary or surprising. It was predictable as always. Once you get the gist of what's going on, you'll be able to figure out the ending with no problem. What I hated the most was how the relied on the same old type of scares that every movie does. The random loud bang. The person popping up out of nowhere. There's was no creativity in the type of scares. I didn't find the tapes to be all that creepy either. They were disturbing in there own rights, but nothing that's going to scare me, or make me walk out of the theater. They were incidences that were done individually in other movies. And I viewed the father (Ethan Hawke) as nothing but an idiot throughout the entire movie. Ugh, and this demon was funny.  He looked like a member of the Insane Clown Posse. I was expecting him to take out a bottle of Faygo at some point. Someone else mentioned that he reminded them of the wrestler Sting. Every time he was on screen, people laughed. That was practically the only reaction from the viewing auidience, laughter. Other than that, the theater was quiet. People didn't seem to find it scary, even the little kids. And I share that sentiment. It was way over hyped. My personal opinion, those who found it scary and/or walked out, are people who are not usual horror movie goers. And personally, I think some critics were paid to say this movie was the scariest thing they ever saw. 

So my suggestion, save your money on this film. I'm sure if it's something you really want to see, you can find other ways. Or wait for it to come out on DVD. You're not missing anything. Don't buy into the hype.

HorrorChick23

Friday, September 21, 2012

The Possession (2012)

Plot: "A young girl buys an antique box at a yard sale, unaware that inside the collectible lives a malicious ancient spirit. The girl's father teams with his ex-wife to find a way to end the curse upon their child." (courtesy of imdb.com) 

Now, possession movies are something that have been done to death. But this was definitely a different take on the whole possession issue. It wasn't really that scary to me but, it was intriguing. You get a look at the Jewish faith and their folklore. The fact that it's based loosely off of a true story, makes it that more intriguing. This movie made me more interested into looking into what this movie is based off of. Look into it, whether you believe it's true or not, it is an interesting read and watch. 

All in all, I found this movie interesting. If you're looking for a good ole fashion possession story, this isn't it. Give it a shot, I think you might like it.


HorrorChick


House At The End Of The Street (2012)

Plot: "A mother and daughter move to a new town and find themselves living next door to a house where a young girl murdered her parents. When the dait.ughter befriends the surviving son, she learns the story is far from over." (courtesy of imdb.com). 

So here is what I thought. I didn't really like it. I didn't find it scary at all. It was so predictable that I knew the "twist" way before it was going to happen. I knew what was going to happen way before it actually did. And of course, that makes for no scare factor what so ever. This movie is something that has been done time and time again. I was really thinking 'Disturbia' throughout this entire movie ( though I do love 'Disturbia'). The only good thing I found about this movie was Jennifer Lawerence. I kind of love that girl.  


Typical horror movie. Predictable plot. Just when you start to feel sorry, you'll be sadly mistaken.  

So in conclusion, the two of us suggest that you save your money. This movie just isn't worth it. If you really feel that urge to watch it, I'm sure you can find other ways to do so. Plus, you'll be saved the aggravation of unnecessary screaming and yelling you'll probable expierence in the theaters. 

HorrorChick and  Ang 

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Martyrs (2008)

Fifteen years after a horrifying experience of abduction and prolonged torture, Lucie embarks on a bloody quest for revenge against her oppressors. Along with her childhood friend, Anna, who also suffered abuse, she quickly descends, without hope, into madness and her own delusions. Anna, left on her own begins to re-experience what Lucie did when she was only twelve years old. (Summary from IMDB.com) 

It's really hard to describe just how I feel about this movie. It's a very disturbing movie with this intense message at the end. You really have to pay attention throughout the whole movie to understand what's going on. This movie is different. This movie will make you emotional. You feel for these characters. At times I wanted to cry for these characters. I definitely do not recommend this movie to those who are novice horror movie fans, those who are faint of heart. All I know is, this movie made me say wow.

HorrorChick23

V/H/S (2012)


                                                       (photo courtesy of imdb.com)
V/H/S is a movie about a group of misfits who are hired to steal a video tape for someone. The tapes contain 5 stories, each one stranger than the other. 


V/H/S is a movie I have been looking forward to seeing. There has been a lot of hype behind this movie and apparently it scared the crap out of some. Before I criticize those aspects, let me say that this is probably one of the best 'found footage' film I have seen (I don't count Diary of the Dead in that genre. Zombie flicks are zombie flicks to me. No matter how they are done. Otherwise, that would be the best film to me.) But then again I am talking about 'found footage' films and they aren't known to be very good. Other than Grave Encounters I haven't seen a movie in this sub genre that has been good. V/H/S was good. 4/5 stories were interesting and a bit creepy. The 3rd story in this movie was by far my favorite and if this movie isn't keeping your interest, at least watch that one. The 2nd story, WTF. I mean really. WTF. It seemed so out of place from the other stories. It didn't keep up with the other supernatural stories. It shouldn't have been included in this movie. They could have been just 4 stories or have included a different story instead of this one. The problem I had with this movie is, a lot of unanswered questions. You didn't know who wanted the tape, why he wanted the tape, the significance of the tape, why this guy they were robbing this tape in his house, and what essentially happened to this guy. That would have tied the story in really nicely. The unanswered questions made the movie a lot worse than it could have been. I think every horror fan should at least give this movie a shot. It was wayyyyy overhyped but, it was still good. I enjoyed watching it. And it certainly wasn't bored by it as I am by other movies. So it's definitely worth a watch. 

As for the hype of this movie, way overhyped as I stated before. The people who we made sick by this movie or were scared by this movie obviously don't watch a lot of horror movies. That and they were obviously suffering from some sort of sickness beforehand. It really wasn't too scary. I could think of movies that were scarier than this. And the gore factor wasn't even that great. I heard a lot of hype about that too. And I am happy that there wasn't that much gore. Sometimes gore takes away from a movie like this. It adds shock factor without adding to much scare and jump factors. 

HorrorChick23

Monday, August 6, 2012

The Tall Man (2012)

The Tall Man is about a small, rundown, poverty stricken town, where children go missing. There is a legend about a Tall Man who abducts the children. And when a mother's child goes missing, she sets out to find the truth about the Tall Man. 

Now first let me warn you that this is not a movie about Phantasm's Tall Man. There seems to be a lot of confusion on other sites that this is a movie about him. It is not. Unfortunately, it's also not a movie about Slenderman. If you don't know who Slenderman is, look his up. Seriously creepy. The only thing in this movie that resembles ole Slendy is the summary. That's it. Side not, people need to seriously think about making a movie about Slendy. 

Anyways, this movie was really good. I found it to be really good and kept me interested. Although it was confusing at first, they really do explain it towards the last 10 minutes. It starts out slow but, don't let that deter you from watching the entire movie. You must sit through the entire thing. I also found Jessica Biel to be very good in this movie. I'm not really a fan of hers but, this is one film where I actually enjoyed her. It also has Jodelle Ferland, of Silent Hill fame, in this movie. Which makes it instantly better.  

One thing I will say about this movie is, it's definitely not a horror film. It's listed as a horror movie but, as you get deeper into the movie, you will see that it is not. This movie only reinforces why Pascal Laugier is one of my favorite directors. So check this movie out. And if you like Pascal as much as I do, check out Martyrs. Martyrs is by far one of my favorite movies. 

Hope you enjoy this film as much as I do. 

HorrorChick.

Saturday, July 14, 2012

How To Survive A Horror Movie

How To Survive A Horror Movie was a TV show on Chiller. It was a show that was designed to give tips on how to survive if you find yourself in a horror movie situation. I really had high hopes for this show. It seemed like an awesome concept. Getting tips and then seeing the three hosts be put in those situations would be useful tips. However, this wasn't the case. The short segments before each challenge yielded good advice. Though I feel like a lot of it was common sense. If you're being chased by a killer, don't lock yourself away with no way out, find weapons, don't run so fast you over exert yourself, if you're friend is on fire smother them with a blanket. Stuff like that is common sense. Other things like, not pulling a knife out of your body, avoiding the center of the hallway, pepper spray on animals, if you're trapped in a coffin dig yourself out sideways, were good advice. Had they come up with several horror movie scenarios and had experts giving advice and their opinions, it would have been a far better show. 

The challenges were awful. The three annoying hosts used every opportunity to talk about how hot they were or how hot they thought each other were. We get it, you're hot. Obviously they failed to realize the over confident hottie always dies in a horror movie. The challenges did not really give you any advice or tips. You just had to watch three people eat really gross stuff or crawl around a rat cage. It was more like an episode of Fear Factor than anything else. 

What really bothered me, more than anything, was the zombie advice. I would like to know where they got their resident "zombie expert". First they started off the segment with advice. Advice any zombie fan already knows. Destroy the brain, have weapons readily available, etc.... Other advice wasn't that good. If you're bitten, try to stop the bleeding. You're better off just shooting yourself in the head then wasting anytime trying to stop the bleeding. You're just going to become a zombie anyways. Unless you really want to become a zombie. They also gave the advice of holing yourself up in an airport. At first it seems like a good idea. It would be easy to barricade with all of the fences, and watch towers, access to food and water. However, upon further thinking, it seems like a terrible idea. Large airports would be easier to get in to. Especially with a couple hundred zombies fighting their way in to get to the living. Also, wouldn't that be a hot bed of zombie activity? Think about it. You have the infected (whether they know it or not) trying to get in and out of certain areas. Flying out seems like a perfect way to get away from an area quickly. More quickly than driving on roads that would surely be congested with others who had the same idea. With all of the people travelling, going to work in an airport, or going to pick up friends and family, you would see a lot of the infected there. Now to the "zombie expert" (I use that term oh so loosely). His advice is as follows, gouge their eyes out so you can't see, try to wrestle them away, and fight them. Wrong, wrong, and wrong. First of all, gouging their eyes out does no good. It only puts you in danger. Their stronger senses are their hearing and their sense of smell. If they can see you, you're too close. Attempting to gouge their eyes out will only get you bitten. You never want to be that close to a zombies mouth. Never. As for wrestling a zombie. Do you really want to be rolling around with one? You'll either be bitten or scratched. As for hand to hand combat. You're going to attempt to fight a zombie? Good luck. If you are cornered by one and have no other options you do one of two things. You push them away from you, or take out their knees. Aim low. Ugh. I'm still really pissed about all of that zombie stuff.


My advice, if you have Chiller and want to watch this show, don't. If you were planning on watching this show through other methods, don't. It's a waste of time. 


HorrorChick.

Friday, July 13, 2012

Friday the 13th

This isn't a post about Friday the 13th movies. It's a given that you should watch them and enjoy Jason. Seriously, who doesn't like the originals? Instead I want to talk about the day. Friday the 13th has to be one of my favorite days. Halloween of course being my most favorite. Most people view this day as unlucky and scary. But I love the terror this day suggests. Why? Well because of all of the awesome horror movies and horror related shows that you can watch. Here's a break down of what I will be watching, which means you should watch them too. 

1. As many Friday the 13ths as possible. 
2. Return of the Living Dead. It's not a horror day without a zombie movie after all. 
3. Several movies with Angela Bettis (the ultimate scream queen. may we all bow down to her) For example, May, The Woman, Toolbox Murders, the 2002 remake of Carrie. FYI, she plays Carrie in that movie.
4. A Chiller TV show called, How to Survive a Horror movie. I personally don't know how I feel about this. It's a competition type show where people are put in horror movie type situations and they need to get out of it. I'd rather prefer a show that showcases several situations, and then gives you advice on how to survive. 

This should effectively take me into the 14th. As well as you guys, if you chose to follow this list of horror quenching entertainment. The most important ones on this list are Friday the 13th. I pretty much think that's a given. 

Now go out and enjoy the day. Watch out for any slashers, demons, ghosts, zombies, or any other paranormal entity today.

HorrorChick.

Saturday, June 16, 2012

The Corridor (2012)

The Corridor is about a group of friends who go for a weekend camping trip/funeral type deal in the woods. As the weekend progresses, they encounter some sort of unexplainable entity (not sure if that's the right word for what this was) and things turn deadly. 
This movie was very confusing and hard to follow. You really had to pay attention from the start to realize what was going on. The movies opening scene started out exciting but slowed down from there. It picks up towards the end of the movie. That seems to be the usual thing in horror movies. And then when they encounter what's in the woods, things get really weird. But it's a good kind of weird. That stuff that happens while not very creepy, were weird and a bit bloody. All in all it wasn't bad at all. Definitely watch it. But watch it at a time you know you won't be distracted. 


One thing I liked about this movie was, you really get this 'Dreamcatcher' vibe from it. This movie seems like it was something Stephen King may have thought up. In fact, when looking at movies similar to this, the first movie listed is 'Dreamcatcher'. However, it's plot is vastly different. So while similar, it's in no way the same movie with a different name. Now I wouldn't catergorize it as horror. It's listed as horror, and while some of the scenes are bloody and a bit brutal, it's not horror at all. I would consider this movie to be suspense/thriller type of deal. 


With that being said, I recommend it. I'm certain you've seen movies that are way worse.


HorrorChick

Monday, June 4, 2012

The Clinic (2010)


In 1979 on Christmas eve, Cameron and his pregnant fiancĂ©, Beth are traveling through the Australian outback to get to Beth’s parent’s house to spend Christmas with them. While they are traveling in the evening a wreck less driver runs them off the road and they decide to stay in motel in Montgomery.  During the night while Beth is sleeping Cameron gets hungry and decides to get some Chinese food.  The restaurant turns out to be closed and he runs out of gas.When he finally gets back to the hotel room Beth is missing. He calls the police and accuses the hotel receptionist in the process. After trying to hit the receptionist he gets arrested but quickly takes control of the situation by stealing the cop's gun. Back at the "Clinic" Beth awakes in a bath tub of ice with a c-section.While trying to seek out her baby she finds four other women in her situation. They band together to try and find their babies. They soon discover that they where stolen for couples that cannot legally adopt and pay for a chance to have a child of their own and that their is a crazy 6th woman trying to kill them all to get her baby back. Even though most of the women die the great part about this story is that the main character Beth escapes the clinic, finds the woman who is running this crazy show, kills her, and escapes this nightmare with her baby girl in her arms. This movie was good and I didn't want to stop watching. It kept me wondering what was going to happen next and I love how the crazy clinic owner got hers in the end. If you love movies like this where the victim comes out as the victor I suggest you see this movie.



http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1345772/ 

The Bleeding (2009)

As a major vampire movie fan I was so disappointed with this one. This one was about a slayer Shawn Black that is in a race to save the world from his evil brother vampire. This one is like most of your bad, low, budget vampire movies. The acting was so bad and I felt as if the actors didn’t really know how to portray a vampire. Now if you have a thing for hot, muscular bald men whom look like wrestlers you will enjoy the protagonist Shawn black. Mr. Black is a soldier whom just got out of the military looking for his presumably dead brother. He meets father Roy, Lena, and father Roy’s assistant along the way and they help him slay vampires throughout the movie. Black’s dead brother aka Cain is the head vampire and is on a mission to create a vampire army. He looks like a cheesy pimp trying to portray a vampire leader but got confused on how to do so. He was over acting every time he talked. Kat Von D aka Vanya played Cain’s main woman. The only good thing about her in this movie was her out fit and how she looked as a vampire. I love Kat Von D and I’m a hugh fan of her art work but acting isn’t her thing. It was awkward watching her in this role. Now I’m not going to continue to bore you with the details of this train wreck but like most vampire slayer movies the slayer prevails and the slayer and his woman walk off into the sunset. Don’t even waste your time on this one as the acting was just completely off and gives a bad reputation to vampire slayer movies. I give it a 2.5 instead of a 3.4.


http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1206881/

The Pact (2012)

The Pact is a movie about a woman who returns to her childhood home after her mothers death. After she experiences strange and terrifying occurrences and two family members go missing, she tries to find out what happened to them and what is happening in that house. 


There were so many unanswered questions throughout the entire movie. You are left wondering why something is happening, what it's all about, how did they get to this point. I'm confused about what I had just seen. They really should have taken the time to explain a lot of what was going on. As for the haunting parts, those were really great. I actually jumped a few times. I never jump at movies anymore. This one really got me. You get the creepiness of the haunting plus the creepiness of a psychic that is brought in. The creep factor alone makes it worth watching. If you are looking for a movie that has a good haunting, I suggest this one. You'll be confused at the end but you sure will have jumped once or twice. One last thing, the actors did a really good job. They made the story very believable, which is sometimes hard to do with a horror movie. Enjoy!


HorrorChick

Sunday, June 3, 2012

A Darker Reality (2008)

A Darker Reality is about a serial killer nicknamed Ghost Face who kidnaps women and brutally tortures them before eventually killing them. In this movie you have a detective and an FBI agent working to solve this case. 


Honestly, I don't know why they decided to make this movie. Daniel Baldwin did a really great job of playing this psychopath, who tortures these women. Though a lot is not seen, what is seen is disturbing as well as what is described. Other than Baldwin's eerily good acting with this character, the movie sucked. You're stuck with both of the investigators most of the time. It was more like a bad cop show watching them. Then you get Silence of the Lamb references when the detective asks for help by another disturbing sicko. And the way it played out, it wasn't good. I stuck with this movie mostly so I could inform you all on it and, when I start a movie I will suffer through it until the end. Do yourselves a favor and skip this film.


P.S. I found out that this film was a sequel. And if this sequel is any indication of how the first one is, I think it's best if all of you and myself skip that one all together. 


-HorrorChick



Friday, June 1, 2012

Zombie Movies To Watch

I figured with the impending Zombie Apocalypse, I could suggest a few zombie movies for everyone to watch. Watch them, study them, gain information from them. You'll need to be prepared. 


1. Night of the Living Dead, The original and 90s remake (Avoid the '06 remake. It was dumb as hell)
2. Dawn of the Dead, The original and the remake
3. Diary of the Dead.
4. Zombieland. This movie lays out rules for you! Important rules. Write those rules down and follow them.
5. The Zombie Diaries
6. La Horde (It's French. But it's good. And it's useful!)




Watch these films and learn something. Also, I suggest reading The Zombie Survival Guide. 
If you have any other films to suggest, please suggest them and share them so everyone knows.


Over and out,


HorrorChick

Monday, May 28, 2012

Summer's Moon (2009)


Miss Ashley Greene. What can I say outside of twilight she does a good job in Summer's Moon. She plays a rebellious teen who runs away from home in search of her father that she never met before. She hitchhikes her way to a remote country town that her father lives in fleeing the local law along the way. When she arrives she meets a local stranger with whom she hooks up with that has a thing for torturing and murdering women. Now here is the interesting details about the characters. Little does Summer know what she is getting into because the local stranger that she hooks up with is actually her half brother who is a psycho murderer. Her daddy whom is out of town when she arrives does the same as her brother but takes it on the road. Her stepmother is just a crazy bitch that goes along with her son and husbands crazy antics. I'm starting to think insest is a common theme in these horror movies because family or not they don't mind hooking up. Now Summer's brother is an interesting character. When he catches his victims he calls them garden angels and chains them down in the basement so his garden can grow. I wasn't to sure why he needed them for his garden but I kept watching to find out. When ever his angel died he would keep their skulls as a souvenir. When daddy finally arrives home every one is on high alert. They are so scared of this man that they ensure that every thing that he likes is ready and in place when he arrives. One of his likes being a nice victim to torture and kill. So after their version of a nice family dinner is done daddy goes down stairs to his present and brings his newly found daughter with him to witness his work. She is trembling the whole time because if he doesn't get his way he turns psycho violent at the drop of a dime. When he returns up stairs he announces that he is taking Summer on the road with him. Her brother isn't going to stand for it and even grabs a gun to ensure his voice is heard. Daddy grabs the gun from him with some belittling remarks and shoots his son and wife with the intention to start a new family with his newly found daughter. Once on the road daddies hunger to kill flares up as they stop at a camp ground to use the bathroom. As he was talking to his unsuspecting victim Summer sneaks out of the car, grabs a knife, and stabs daddy to death in front of the potential victim. It ends with her just walking away back to the car I presume. I believe this could of ended a lot better than it did but I'm glad she killed that psycho bastard. Now the moral of this story is listen to your mom even if you hate her at the moment. She maybe protecting you for a reason. It was good and for a freebie on demand I wasn't disappointed to much. Ashley Greene did a great job and should return to the horror genre more often. I'm going to give my stamp of approval on this one and say give it a look see and feel free to disagree with me if you would like. 
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1285010/ 

Sunday, May 27, 2012

The Hamiltons (2006)

I went off genre with this one..Its classified as a thriller.. It's about a transient vampire family that relocates when their parents get killed in an accident. David is the oldest and he takes care of his four sibling vampires ensuring that they have blood by any means necessary. From kidnapping random victims to inviting friends over for sleep overs and night caps they get their blood...This movie was a waste of time but I couldn't stop watching it cause it was like a train reck I wanted to see how it ended. The oldest brother David is a in the closest homosexual who picks up transients and drains them dry. The twins Wendell and Darlene are insest freaks and when ever they get the chance they are all over each other. The 2nd to youngest  Francis Hamilton is like the dude from a beautiful mind that tapes every thing he sees to try to capture a deeper meaning of it all. Lastly there is Lenny. Now Lenny is not revealed to the ending of the movie and he is locked away in a room in the basement because apparently he can't control his thrist for blood and will eat every thing in site. This movie starts out so slow and is dry. Instead of just coming out and saying they are vampires it left me scratching my head the whole time and the camera work was awful but I guess that is what you get for free on demand. Mitchell Altieri, Phil Flores, and Adam Weis need to stick to writing and if Mitchell and Phil decide to stick to directing they need to take some directing classes because their actors where dry as can be. So in conclusion the story was there but the delivery didn't make it. I disagree with the rating. I give it a 3.5 instead of a 5.2 out of 10. I say save your time and find some thing else. That's it for the night be back soon.
For more of a synopsis check out: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0443527/

The other half

Hey everybody. I'm Angela D Lauren's best friend and partner in crime on this blog. I'm going to try to keep up with HorrorChick23 as much as I can on watching  movies but she seems to have more horror movie channels than I do. When we do go out to catch the latest flicks I will give you my honest opinion and feel free to disagree with me.. I love a good discussion. But anyways I will try my best to keep up and hopefully this will be a good ride.

Reeker and Rise of the Reeker

I am going to review two movies. Reeker and Rise of the Reeker. Reeker is the first movie of this set and Rise of the Reeker came out after, it was a prequel. 

Reeker (2005) A group of college students are driving out to a party when their car stalls out at an abandoned diner/motel. They are soon being stalked and killed by an entity that literally reeks. He is foul smelling, that's for sure. Now I really liked this movie. It was something different, though I feel the killings could be a little more original. And, when you finally get a glance at The Reeker, it was a bit disappointing. The twist at the end was great. I definitely suggest it. Don't be put of by the confusing parts, the end explains it all to you. Worth a watch.

Rise of the Reeker (2008) This is the prequel to Reeker. You get the back story of who the Reeker is and why he smells so damn bad. You also get to see him when he first appears to start doing his killings. This movie takes place at a diner/motel (hmmm wonder where we have heard that), which becomes a stand up between bank robbers and two police officers. Then the crazy stuff starts to happen. Guys are walking around with crazy injuries and the Reeker is doing what he does best. The Reeker himself also looks much cooler than what was portrayed. This was what had drawn me to the movie in the first place (I had seen this before I even knew about Reeker). At first, no one knows what is going on. And when a Native American man comes in and explains what is going on, no one believes him. Of course they think he's crazy and they know he's drunk (really? they just had to put that stereotype in. most of us Native Americans aren't drunks). But they soon learn he's right, as so many people in horror movies learn. The ending was along the lines of Reeker. But I like the endings. I definitely suggest this one as well. I like this one better than Reeker. You really could watch them in any order if you'd like.  

-HorrorChick23

7 Nights of Darkness

This movie is about reality show contestants spending 7 days in an abandoned and haunted asylum. The prize for sticking it out that long was the prize of $1 million. Of course as you may have guessed, no one made it out of there. They say it's a mixture of The Ring and Blair Witch Project. The Ring, no. What was seen is nothing that hasn't been seen in a ton of haunted house type movies before hand. Blair Witch, yes. The whole hand held camera thing of course. But the ending, SPOILER ALERT, was ripped off from their ending. I mean come on. The movie wasn't really too bad. There were some creepy parts when you see some of the ghosts. But that's about it. I found myself annoyed with the characters involved in this. They kept talking over each other all the time. Granted that's what would happen if this was a real life situation but, when trying to watch a movie and understand what's going on, that type of thing does not help. It was also dark throughout the entire movie. Also hard to understand what's going on if you can not see it. All in all, it was another typical low budget, found footage type movie. Nothing that hasn't been done before. As it was exciting in some parts, it was way boring in others. The only reason why I was generally interested in this movie is because I love me a good ole haunted insane asylum. If you like those kinds of movies, give it a go. Don't expect too much from it. Other than that, skip over it.

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Chernobyl Diaries

Where oh where do I begin with this piece of garbage? My best friend (my fellow horror movie partner in crime) and I went to go see this in the theater last night. I was excited to see this. It looked like it could be freaky. But trailers always make the movies seem great. Walking into this movie I was hoping Oren Peli would prove me wrong. Not much of a fan of his. I never found any of the Paranormal Activity movies scary or exciting. The River was a big fail in my eyes (and the eyes of the networks). He didn't prove me wrong. This movie sucked! I can't find words to describe it's suckyness in a nice way.  You get a bunch of tourists going to the city of Pripyat, where the disaster took place. Seems like fun right. Will only be there a few hours and then go on their way. Well it didn't happen that way. Throughout the movie you see the tourists running around trying to find a way out and trying to stay away from whatever it is attacking their group. You sit there for awhile watching them run around in circles terrified in the dark. It's not really exciting. Then you barely get to see what is attacking them. When you finally get to see one, it's comical. It was boring, not scary, slow moving, and a disappointment. Plus, I see exactly why people are offended by this movie. Oren Peli claims that he was not intending on making this offensive but making it with the utmost respect. I hardly see making the victims of this disaster into mutated cannibals being anything but offensive. I also see that in the horror world, situations made from anything are turned into movies that most people seem to enjoy and not find offense to. But, that's a different blog. Moral of this post, don't see the movie. Save your money and your time. It's a waste of both. If anyone is telling you this movie was good, they must not see many horror movies to begin with. That and their taste in movies suck. Horror Chick over and out.


(Picture Courtesy of IMDB.com)
So as most of you have heard, I've been thinking about starting my own Horror Movie blog. Why? Well you could say I'm a bit fanatic about horror movies. Maybe obsessed to the point I should be on that show on TLC. Anyways, most of my free time is spent watching horror movies. Most of my theater adventures are to see the latest horror movies that come out. At night you can find me watching horror movies that range from foreign to indy to low budget to the classics. Since my FB friends seem to trust my opinions on movies, I thought I'd give this blog a chance. So sit back and enjoy. Also, feel free to leave me comments on movies you want me to review or movies you think I should watch. 


-HorrorChick23


http://www.upcominghorrormovies.com/users/thathororrchick23 (yes i am aware i spelled horror wrong. so sue me)